Reveal: Desk Organizer Redo With Washabi Tape

Untitled design(6)

If you’re unfamiliar with washabi tape, it’s a the easiest way to add a fresh new look to almost anything! It’s regular tape, slightly see through, that has a pattern, color, or design on it.

I’ve been itching to do a project with washabi tape for some time now.   Last night I walked into my office, saw this old storage drawer I’ve had for probably 10 years, and said, “Why the heck not?!”

ugly, huh?
ugly, huh?

As an experienced furniture refurbisher, I know that most of the time you should sand the wood down before painting. However, since this was a smaller piece and I don’t predict it getting hard wear and tear, I just painted right over the wood with this beautiful black. Next, I painted the front of the drawers white, and the knobs the same black color as the base.

paint

Applying the washabi tape was super simple! I literally just stuck it down on top of the white paint. It sticks down firmly, so you don’t have to worry about the edges peeling up.

washabi tape 1

I bought this chevron pattern washabi tape at Hobby Lobby for $3.99. It came in a two pack with a black and white polka dot print, but there are many different patterns to choose from.

washabi tape

This project was so simple and it only took me about an hour. I love the modern twist it gives to my desk.

fun with washabi tape

 

 

3 comments

Leave a comment