Skinny Tan Review

If you’ve been reading this blog for long at all you’ve probably noticed that most of the time I’ll choose a fake tan over a real one. That’s because I’ve had a scary encounter with skin cancer in the past and the dangers of it are all too real for me now. If you haven’t had an issue with skin cancer, but still use tanning bed or lay in the sun unprotected, I’d encourage you to read up and realize that it can happen to you.

Disclaimer: This post shares up-close and personal pictures of my curvy legs. Because they are curvy, you’ll probably see cellulite. (gasps)  If you’re into body shaming- you can leave now. DIY Made Simple is a place for uplifting one another- no matter what size you are.

IMG_8601.JPG

Today, I’d like to share with you another option for self-tanning. Skinny Tan, a brand I have written about before, here, has come out with a new self-tanning kit! I love the idea of having everything you need in one, convenient package. The Skinny Tan Tan & Tone Kit retails for $54.99 and includes a tan primer, exfoliator, and 7 day tanner. Here are my honest thoughts on each of these products.

IMG_8613.JPG

Before application

IMG_8617.JPGIMG_8608.JPG

Every type of self-tanner recommends that you use an exfoliator before application, for an even tan that lasts longer. It’s so convenient to have a package that includes one! The Skinny an exfoliator helped me to remove dead skin cells all over my body, and moisturize before application. It was a very light exfoliator, that wasn’t harsh at all, so I think that it would work for most skin types. Plus, it smelled like coconuts! (Yumm) I could see myself using this product all the time, not just when I’m going to tan. With that  being said, if you’re someone who likes really course exfoliators, I don’t think that it would work well for you.

IMG_8619.JPG

IMG_8621.JPG

Next, I applied the 7 Day Tanner. I found that at first the 7 Day Tanning lotion smelled like the exfoliator, just like coconuts, which I was all for. Since this self-tanner is a lotion, it is fairly hard to apply evenly, and I was afraid that it would get everywhere while applying it. For that reason, I stood in the tub when rubbing it on, and I recommend you do the same. I found that while applying it to my feet, that it transferred to the floor. In the tub this was an easy clean up, but on tile or bath rugs that could stain, this could have been a problem. While applying the product, I found that it was hard to rub in, and I had to spend 30 seconds rubbing it in each section for a full dispersal of the product. Having used a lot of self tanners, I knew the importance of washing my hands right away, so that they didn’t stain, however, I found it alarming that the box didn’t give users any type of warning about this issue!

IMG_8624.JPG

After application, before washing off

IMG_8626.JPG

After application, before washing off

As instructed, I left the tanner on over night while I slept. The longer the product stayed on my skin, the more the coconut smell changed to an unpleasant “dirty” smell. By the morning, I didn’t like the smell of the lotion at all. The first time I used the product I washed it off and used soap, because I couldn’t stand the smell. Bad move on my part! Using any type of soap will completely wash off the tan. And I mean completely! It completely ruined all the work I had put into the tan:( The second time I used the product I was sure to not do this, and got better results. However, I’m someone who really enjoys a dramatic tan and I found that the Tan & Tone Kit’s results are very subtle. For that reason I wasn’t happy with the results. But, if you’re someone who is looking for a light coloration, this might be the best product for you.

IMG_8630.jpg

Final product

IMG_8632.jpg

Final product

Final thoughts: The Skinny Tan Tan & Tone Kit didn’t work for me. It included a lot of steps  that didn’t amount to a very intense color pay off and I wasn’t a fan of the smell.

Have you used Skinny Tan products before? If you have tell me about your experience in the comments section.

Leave a Reply

