Cellulite Reducing Self Tanner?

Skinny Tan Review

Skin care is very important to me. Four years ago I had a pre-cancerous mole removed from my breast. The week that I waited for the results from the lab was the longest of my life. When I got the results back that it was pre-cancerous, I was scared and regretted using tanning beds so heavily during high school and the start of my college career. Every since then I’ve tried to be protective of my skin: always using sunscreen, lip balm, hats, and sunglasses. And while pale skin is more accepted as a cultural norm these days, I still miss my sun tan most of the time. That’s probably why I’ve fallen in such love with self-tanning mousse.

I was very excited when I heard about the Skinny Tan system because it combats two issues that I deal with: cellulite and pale skin. This self-tanner is made from all natural ingredients that work together to combat the appearance of cellulite. Here’s my honest opinion about the product.

Skinny Tan offers six different product packages:

  1. Skinny Tan 7-Day Tanner Natural ($39.95)
  2. Skinny Tan Gradual Tanner ($29.95)
  3. Skinny Tan Tanning Mousse ($39.95)
  4. Skinny Tan, Tan & Tone Kit ($54.99)
  5. Skinny Tan, Tan & Glow Kit ($54.99)
  6. Skinny Tan Applicator Mitt ($9.95)

I had the chance of trying out the Tanning Mousse and the Gradual Tanner. The Tanning Mousse was amazing! It applies very evenly with a mitt applicator. (I picked one up for $5 at my local Ulta.) While most self-tanners have a strange smell, the Skinny Tan system was amazing, it smelt like a Pina Colada!

It’s recommended that you leave the mousse on for 6-8 hours for the color to fully develop. My favorite way to apply it is right after I’ve taken a shower and exfoliated my skin, ensuring that I get an even all-over glow. I let the tanner develop while I sleep and rinse in the morning. When showering, a lot of the color will wash down the drain and the water will be brown. I love getting super dark when I self-tan and I admit that if you shower with soap and face wash when rinsing off the color the tan isn’t as vivid, but more natural. This is something to keep in mind.

Using the Skinny Tan Gradual Tanner allows you to build up your color over time. This is a great option for someone who is really pale and or for someone looking for a very natural option. Personally, I didn’t have the patience to use the Gradual Tanner on its own, as I wanted a darker tan faster. Instead, I found that I liked to use the gradual tanner as a moisturizing lotion in collaboration with the tanning mousse. This helped to extend the life of my tan and keep my skin looking dewy and youthful.

As for the longevity of the tan, I was impressed. It seemed to last longer than other at home self-tanning mousse I’ve tried, lasting about four days on the most frequently washed areas of my body (hands and face). I find that the tan will stick for a long time on areas of the body that don’t have clothes rubbing on them, or that I don’t scrub with a loofa when in the shower, like the front of my neck. These areas the tan will last about two weeks.

I thought that the Skinny Tan system did help to make my cellulite appear less noticeable, however, I think any tan will help to do just that. It’s a great, safe option for getting your Summer glow and I recommend it to everyone.

2 thoughts on “Cellulite Reducing Self Tanner?

  1. Great information! I really have been trying to focus on taking care of my skin and protecting it from the sun, as well. Looking into new self tanners. I’ll have to check this out!

  2. Pingback: Skinny Tan Review | DIY Made Simple

Leave a Reply

