Fall Favorites Tag

fall favorites

Recently, I watched a video by Jaclyn Hill, in which she shared her Fall favorites, and I thought to myself, “What a wonderful idea!” Fall is by far my favorite time of year, from the multi-colored leaves to the smell of pumpkin spice, I can’t get enough! Plus, while I share lots of tutorials and product reviews, I don’t always share stories that allow you, my reader, to get to know me. Beware: My inner nerd is going to stick way out in this post, as I love all things Fall and thrilling. Here my list of Fall favorites.

My favorite Fall….

EYESHADOW PALETTE is the Too Faced semi-sweet chocolate bar. While this palette  is perfect for a natural eye, you can easily transform a look into a smokey eye. Plus, the colors in this palette are to die for and THEY SMELL LIKE CHOCOLATE! Click here to shop.

too faced semi-sweet chocolate bar

CANDLE is actually not a candle. I am so obsessed with wax melts right now because you can switch them out so frequently and they are so inexpensive. My two current Fall favorites can be purchased from Walmart. The first is from ScentSationals brand in Pumpkin Sugar Cookies and Cinnamon Pumpkin. (This is a mixable fragrance and comes with two scents.) The second is from Mainstays in the scent Apple Pumpkin. Both smells are super yummy and sweet. You’ve got to try them!

pumpkin wax melts apple pumpkin wax melts

TV Show…. One of my favorite past times, with my husband, is watching TV shows and movies. We looooove binge watching Netflix. (It’s terrible; I know.) If you’re looking for shows to watch on Netflix that will get you in the Halloween spirit, try out The Vampire Diaries and Secret Circle. They are so addictive and are definitely my guilty pleasure. If you just want a funny/ fun show to watch try Invincible Kimmy Schmidt. (It’s not Fall-ish, but it’s hilarious, so I’m including it anyway.)

fall favorite tag vampire diaries

secret circle

invincible kimmy schmidt

MOVIES. I’m a huge scary movie fanatic. Seriously, I would watch them all the time if I could, but my husband HATES them! I don’t like cussing or gore very much that rules out a lot of the classics, but my favorite is The Shinning. I absolutely adore Jack Nicholson.

shinning

While I could ramble on and on about scary movies I love, so this subject is like playing with fire for me, but to make this quick another recently found scary movie I was super impressed by was The Houses October Built. It’s a documentary-type style (which I usually hate) about a group of friends touring the South to find the best Haunted House Attractions. It too is available on Netflix. I think the reason I like it so much is because it’s such a fresh idea in the overdone Halloween genre. Plus, the director (the same one that made Insidious and Paranormal Activity) must have been a genius because practically the entire thing takes place in an RV and you don’t get sick of it. It’s crazy.

october

BOOK. It’s so hard to pick just one! I love a good thriller or murder mystery book and the season really doesn’t feel the same for me until I read a good book to kick start it. I highly recommend In The Shadows of Blackbirds, Monument 14, and I Hunt Killers.

In the shadows of blackbirds

In the Shadows of Blackbirds takes place in 1918 when the Spanish influenza roamed freely. A mix of ghosts and the horrors of a real virus are haunting. It’s a fast read and will have you wondering what’s making things go bump in the night.

monument 14

Monument 14 is written beautifully by Emmy Laybourne. (Yes, this is Mary-Katherine’s friend in the movie Superstar, staring Molly Shannon) This book follows around a group of children who take refuge in a superstore after a freak chemical spill at a nearby chemical testing facility. The chemicals in the air cause different reactions based on blood-type.

i hunt killers

I adore this book because it’s so original! The son of one of the most famous serial killers, the main character makes it his life goal to solve murders by tapping into the mindset of his father.

barbie 2

HALLOWEEN COSTUME. This is a really hard one for me because I love so many of my costumes from the past few years. In 2011 I dressed up as Barbie, including blond wig and bedazzled jacket.

Last year for work I dressed up as a man, including beard. My husband hated it!

But one of my most favorites was sugar skull makeup tutorial I did. The video is below, and here is a link to the blog post I wrote about it.

That wraps up my Fall favorites. What are some of yours? Let me know in the comments sections, and I tag anyone who wants to share their favorites in a post.

Leave a Reply

