DIY Lush Bath Bombs

diy bath bombs

One of my expensive obsessions (Yes, unfortunately, there are more than one. Kate Spade and ) is Lush Cosmetics. If you haven’t heard of them before, consider yourself lucky. You’ve saved a lot of money. But now you have heard of them so go check out their website here: http://www.lushusa.com. Think I’m the first person to know about Lush Cosmetics? No way. There’s so many Instagram accounts devoted to all things LUSH it’s brilliantly disgusting. You’ve got to check it out. They’ll also make you want to spend a bunch of money.

As you can see from their website, the bath bombs (my absolute favorite product) range in price between $5-$10. That’s an expensive bath! I totally think the bath bombs are worth it every once in a while because they leave your skin soft and ahhhh-mazing smelling, but because of their price they can’t be used everyday. I know, I know, you’re probably asking me, “Stephanie, but my life and beauty should be celebrated every day!” I totally agree with you. I’ve ran into this problem myself. (I’ve also ran into the problem of “my day has been so stressful I need a bath to calm down.” BUT, no matter what brought you to the tub, you still deserve the five star treatment! That’s why I made these DIY Lush Bath Bombs, that are inexpensive, and work just as well as any Lush bath bomb I’ve ever used.

DIy Bath Bombs

To try them out, here is what you’ll need:

  • 1 Cup baking Soda
  • 1/2 Cup Citric Acid (You can find this at Walmart by the Mason jars and other canning items)
  • 1/2 Cup Corn Starch
  • 1/2 Cup Epsom Salt
  • 5 Tablespoons Coconut Oil
  • 1 Teaspoon of Water
  • A Mold of the shape you want
  • Optional: Essential oils for smell and food coloring for fun

DIy Bath Bombs

First, mix together your dry ingredients. (Baking soda, citric acid, corn starch, Epsom salt)

Next, add in the coconut oil, water, essential oils, and food coloring.

Stir together using a whisk, then mix together with your hands! I found that I had to add a few more teaspoons of coconut oil to a few batches.

DIY bath bombs

If you are doing different colors, (which I also recommend because it’s super fun) divide your mix up into separate bowls for each color. Add the food coloring and essential oils at this point.

DIY Bath Bombs

Grab your mold. They sell molds at craft stores like Hobby Lobby and Michael’s. OR you can use bowls to make the shapes you want. It is easiest when you use a mold with two sides. You’ll fill up the mold as much as possible and push down/ pack your bath bomb mixture. You’ll have to continually add more. Once full, you can remove the outside of the mold and leave on a cookie sheet to dry.

For best results, let your bath bombs dry over night.

DIY Bath Bombs

Now you’re ready to use the bath bombs!

DIY bath bombs

If you try this recipe out, be sure to tell me how it worked for you in the comments section below.

Some notes on the above ingredients: The water will cause a small fizz to occur when added to the dry ingredients. Don’t be surprised or think you messed something up! If you are using food coloring, it easily clumps up and takes extra stirring. As a substitute you can use powder soap dye. This can be found on Amazon. Essential oils are another thing that aren’t required, but I strongly recommend. They can help you relax quicker! Unfortunately, essential oils can be pricey, I recommend asking an essential oil salesperson for a sample to try out a specific oil before buying an entire bottle.

One thought on “DIY Lush Bath Bombs

  1. Pingback: Dresslink Product Review | DIY Made Simple

Leave a Reply

