Lime Lush Look Alike Necklace

 

Lime Lush Look Alike Necklace

*** This is part 2 of a 3 part weekend projects series. See last week’s tutorial on a bright pink makeup mirror, here. Look back next week for a new tutorial and a case of Plutonium paint giveaway!*****

The other day I was scrolling down my Facebook news feed and saw this adorable teal necklace (See below). Teal is my color! (if you haven’t noticed from the color scheme of this blog)  However, after following the url to the website, I found out that the necklace was $50. Then, I thought to myself that I could make the necklace myself for much cheaper! Here’s how I did it with the help of my very favorite spray paint, Plutonium.

Dollar Store Necklace

wpid-20140802_143300.jpg

From the dollar store, I bought a pack of eight Mardi Gras beads. I cut the necklaces in half. Using regular thread, I tied a knot around the ends of necklaces so that they were all the same length. To get the tiered look, I cut the untied ends of the necklaces to different lengths. Then, I repeated the tying process on the other end of the necklaces.

wpid-20140802_143759.jpg wpid-20140802_144451.jpg

 

Using Plutonium paint, in the color Aloha, I coated the beads in spray paint. Plutonium Paint is my number one choice for craft projects because it contains 70% pigment (much higher than other spray paints), it dries in five minutes, and smells like vanilla.

wpid-20140802_150748.jpg

If you have bracelets or necklaces that you don’t want anymore, you can use those clasps for the ends of the necklace you’ve just made. If not, you can do what I did and make a clasp for the ends of the necklace out of floral wire.

wpid-20140803_210645.jpg

 

DIY Lime Lush Necklace

I love how this necklace turned out! Don’t you?

If you want to try Plutonium Paint out for free, check back next weekend for a giveaway!

One thought on “Lime Lush Look Alike Necklace

  1. Pingback: HUGE Discounts on NUME Products- Almost Free | EpicWin Prices

Leave a Reply

